mail phone icon615-791-8511

Tennessee DUI Laws Impose Serious Penalties

Driving under the influence is very serious. Not only are you putting yourself and other drivers at risk, but you are also putting yourself in legal jeopardy if you are caught. Tennessee has some serious penalties for those convicted of DUI, whether you actually get into an accident or injure anyone or not.

If it is your first DUI conviction, you could serve anywhere from 48 hours in jail to 11 months 29 days, and you could have to pay a fine between $350 and $1,500. You will also have your license revoked for a year, you will have to attend an alcohol or drug safety class, and you will have to pay restitution to anyone injured or suffering property damage from an accident resulting from your DUI. You may apply for a restricted drivers license permitting you to drive with an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

If you are convicted of a DUI a second time, you could spend between 45 days and 11 months 29 days in jail and pay a fine of between $600 and $3,500. Your license will be revoked for two years. Your vehicle may also be seized and forfeited. You may also be ordered to attend a drug or alcohol treatment program. You may apply for a restricted drivers license permitting you to drive with an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. You may also have to pay restitution. You may want to apply to participate in the DUI Court program if your case is in Williamson County.

The penalties go up considerably with each subsequent conviction and whenever a person is injured or property is damaged in an accident resulting from your DUI, or when you are accompanied by a child under the age of 18. The higher your blood-alcohol content, the more serious your penalties can be also.

Though you know that driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is not a good decision, being under the influence impairs your ability to make good decisions and increases the likelihood that you will drive. You may think that you are “fine” since you didn’t have that much to drink. Being convicted of a DUI will land you in serious legal trouble and lead to long-term consequences like trouble getting a job. I provide the best legal defense I can for my clients to help them avoid these penalties and get another chance after making a mistake.

There are many ways that I may be able to have your charges dismissed or reduced, including challenging the validity of your stop, questioning the authenticity of the testing used to determine your level of intoxication, and more. The best defense depends on the circumstances of your case, and I will study the details of your arrest carefully and consider your overall driving and criminal record to determine the best course of action. I also help you understand your options and your legal rights so that you can be an active participant in the creation of your legal defense.

If you have been charged with a DUI, you need an experienced Franklin DUI attorney who knows the system on your side. Call my office at (615) 791-8511 to schedule a free 20-minute consultation or use the secure online form. I work with clients throughout the Nashville area, and I return all messages within 24 hours.